Snowday HEY!

Conclusion: I like beet greens a heck of a lot more than I like beets.

Corollary: Beet chips are delicious…but so far I’ve yet to find a method of preparing beets that doesn’t fill me with feelings of “meh.”

I suffered yet another bout of illness this past weekend, bringing my health score for 2015 to Germs: 4; Meg: 0. I’ve yet to make it a full week without some kind something making me feel like death.

Hopefully I’m on the mend again, though. I’m trying to keep an eye on my nutritional intake this year (which is possibly my problem? Maybe I should stop…) so once the crackers and ginger ale had done their job, I decided on a root vegetable roast. Also, roasted root vegetables seemed like a reasonably in your face, blizzard! meal for a snowday.  Then, of course, I was left with a couple of hours to wait for things to roast and three bunches of beet greens and, well, that is some valuable vitamin territory even though I’ve always thrown them out because I’ve been told beet greens are bitter.

Soooooooo! Blanched, sauteed with garlic and red pepper flakes, omnomnom’d: delicious!

Well, cheers, snowday, for letting me get a little bit caught up on the housework I couldn’t do this weekend because I was flat in bed. And also for bringing light to the Boston Yeti. Hot damn, I love this city.

3 thoughts on “Snowday HEY!

  1. Hi Meg,It’s about damn time you discovered beet greens!  Next time I’m in Boston (November 6 – 8 this year) I’ll prove to you that beets are also delicious.  Get ready to be surprised.Love, Louise

    From: Keeping Occupied To: louisemariepaul@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, January 27, 2015 9:13 PM Subject: [New post] Snowday HEY! #yiv8633942711 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8633942711 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8633942711 a.yiv8633942711primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8633942711 a.yiv8633942711primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8633942711 a.yiv8633942711primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8633942711 a.yiv8633942711primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8633942711 WordPress.com | mwick posted: “Conclusion: I like beet greens a heck of a lot more than I like beets.Corollary: Beet chips are delicious…but so far I’ve yet to find a method of preparing beets that doesn’t fill me with feelings of “meh.”I suffered yet another bout of illness ” | |

Leave a Reply

