Off the hook!!

My mother texted me last week, saying “Gues what!” It turns out that this is a thing! John Dies at the End!! This is a thing that exists!! You know what this means?

I don’t have to writeeeeeeeee itttttttttttttt! I laughed long and hard in the middle of the subway train. It looks like a blast and I can’t wait to track it down and read it. Clearly, this author has fabulous taste in titles. It sounds absurd and grotesque and right up my alley. I can’t believe I’ve never heard of it before!

Plus, I received an invitation from a Meetup group to go see the movie. I’m tempted to go even though I haven’t read the book; it should fit in nicely with all the Lovecraft I’ve been reading recently. Perhaps not, though. I do poorly with gore. I love zombies but can’t watch zombie movies. Even Shaun of the Dead was a struggle and a half.

Farm-raised salmon has also been a struggle. It was on sale the other day and it’s been a while since I had fresh fish so I went for it. The problem is that I have stuck to wild salmon so long now that the farm raise seems bland and far too fatty. Wild caught fish is much, much better. Enough soy sauce will fix pretty much anything, though, so I made some rice and went with my old college/grad school standby: salted salmon.

I decided that a favorite old food deserved a favorite old pastime to go with it. As I type, I am lounging at my kitchen table with my computer playing old fansubs of a Japanese television show. Maybe I could call it inspiration?

I’m watching Yamada Tarou Monogatari (The Story of Tarou Yamada). It stars a couple of members of my favorite ridiculous rainbow boy band, 嵐 (Arashi). It’s also built around one of my favorite tropes: an incredibly poor student at an incredibly wealthy school.

This all comes up because I had a hot date with corruption yesterday. A friend of mine brought a new face to our most recent game night and she made the mistake of commenting to me that she wanted to watch anime. Yesterday, I introduced her to Ouran High School Host Club. This show is a must watch! Poor student, wealthy school, ridiculous costumes, “commoner” as a descriptor for an alien culture, and a lot of really hilarious characters. She will never be the same and it’s all my fault! Insert glee here.

My new awesome friend has promised to corrupt me with Hot Fuzz in return. Insert additional glee.

I love finding new friends!

4 thoughts on “Off the hook!!

    • Multiple people have expressed shock and concern that I haven’t seen it yet. I don’t know how I missed something that sounds so incredibly epic.

      Any good jobs in your neighborhood? I’m still looking, you know…! 🙂

    • I know, right? I read the Wikipedia page on it and it seems like something I should have stumbled across long before now. It looks absurd and, yes, grotesque. I didn’t really start reading horror until last year, though, so I can see how I would have missed it if that’s where it’s being shelved. I don’t know how accurate the genre depictions are on Wikipedia but I’m willing to give them the benefit of the doubt.

Leave a Reply

