Happi Pi Dai!

It’s too late to post this in some parts of the world but I still have three hours. And my sister, who is in labor, has six hours to make sure her baby is not something to beware on the Ides of March.

[Nerd family, what.]

IN CELEBRATION OF PI DAY, with the encouragement of SuperBetter to adhere to my nutrition goals, I decided to make a…wait, this story needs to be retold properly.

Quoth my father, “Oh no, I think I may have doubled the butter. I may need to make two pie crusts. That means I have to make two pies. Damn.”

Quoth my me, “…I hate you, I wish I could have pie. Maybe I could make a veg…*gaaaaaaaasp* SPINACH PIE!”

Quoth my father, “Spinach pie!”

Quoth my me, “Spiiiiiiinach Piiiiiiiieeeeeeeeeee!”

20120314-213203.jpg

20120314-213211.jpg

20120314-213217.jpg

20120314-213225.jpg

Be jealous, natch. Inspired by this recipe.

  • 1 10oz package of frozen spinach, thawed, moisture squeezed out
  • 1 cup fat-free cottage cheese
  • 3 egg whites
  • 4 tablespoons shredded parmesan cheese
  • 1 cross-section of one small Spanish onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.
  3. Grease pie pan (I swished extra virgin olive oil around with a napkin).
  4. Pour spinach mixture into pan and smush flat with spoon.
  5. Spread more parmesan cheese on top.
  6. Bake for 45-50 minutes (cheese should be browning).
  7. Set pie on cooling rack.
  8. Wait two minutes. Slice into quarters.
  9. Chow down.

Based upon the original recipe, I estimate this to be about 90 calories per slice. 90 CALORIES PER SLICE. Not a single recognizable carb in the mix! TONS of fiber, lots of vitamins, bunches of protein, incredible flavor. I don’t even like cottage cheese!

[Okay, so now she has five hours and 20 minutes…c’mon, Kate.]

2 thoughts on “Happi Pi Dai!

  1. thanks for the recipe!!! It sounds really good and I’m going to make it next week all for myself… no one else will eat it so I may as well make it while no one is home!

    Also…. hope all goes well with Kate and baby! I know how excited you all are! The baby is going to LOVE your knitted little toys!!! I’ll be excited to hear the official news!

  2. Catching up on email – sometimes I am sooooo slow!!! Note no additions lately to the cleaning/housework game. It’s just amazing how I have gone past learning to let things slide to making it a practice. LOL But about this installment – I LOVE the sounds of that recipe for I too am trying to improve some of the very same areas you are and that pie will be perfect!! I just hope I can hold the line at 2 pieces. Thanks for sharing and here’s to healthy eating and less of it!!!(food that is)

Leave a Reply

